top of page

DIY 10 Minute Dress from Scarf

Hi! Welcome back to my blog

I will be showing you how to DIY a simple slip-on dress from a scarf / hijab

I bought these scarfs from my friend. she sells good quality hijab, if anyone's interested here's the link to her shop: www.instagram.com/hijab.nowadays

Moving on, Eventhough I don't wear a hijab, I LOOOOOVEEE the pattern and colors of these scarfs (I'm a sucker for low saturated and monochromatic colors) so I bought them anyway. Since I don't wear scarfs too often either, I decided to turn it into a dress

It's so easy to make, comfortable, and perfect to wear on casual lazy days

So these are the two patterns that I bought

Aren't they lovely?

And now, we move on to making the dress. I'm a beginner at sewing and I only know basic stitches and pattern but I swear to you this is so easy it took me 10 minutes to make the dress... here we go

My scarf is 180 cm x 75 cm. but you can use a shorter one if you want to make a blouse or a longer one for a maxi dress.

1. Fold the scarf in half

2. Cut a neck hole and sew the right and left side leaving an inch or half an inch if the fabric is already hemmed. don't forget to leave approximately 20-25cm from the shoulders down for arm holes. after you're finished, hem along the neck hole and the bottom of the scarf so the fabric won't fray if my instructions are unclear, just follow the pattern below :

AND THAT IS BASICALLY IT! YOU'RE DONE!

Here's my finished dress. (as usual, sorry for the low quality photos lol)

I think i will be turning the other scarf into a kimono outer if I have time so stay tuned!

bottom of page